Beauty · Review

Matte Lips For Days: ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip

img_7150
Top to bottom: Avenue, Tulle, Bumble, Beeper

 

About two months ago, I borrowed my friend Isabelle’s ColourPop Ultra Matte liquid lipstick. She let me use the colour, bumble and I absolutely loved it. I had no previous experience with liquid lipsticks and I was surprised at how quickly this one dried after application. When you first apply it, it’s surprisingly creamy and light after the first layer and it dries within seconds. I do suggest layering it to see what kind of result you can get. However, be sure not to layer it too much especially over multiple layers of the lipstick or else it does tend to crack a little bit. As for longevity, it does have pretty great staying power but it does have a little bit of fallout and after a long night. This doesn’t do miracles but it sure does the job well. Now for swatches, they’re at the end of the post but heads up, they do look different on my lips in comparison to the colour on my hands. In fact they look different on each person depending on your lip colour so while this can be a good reference, you won’t be able to tell exactly what colour it is! Also my hands look so weird in the swatches don’t mind me. 🙂

The first colour I got is avenue, which is an incredibly beautiful dark red colour. The red lipsticks that I’ve used before always had a vampy look to it but this one is a really nice glamorous red. On my lips, I think this is the perfect red because it’s not too blue or not too red. In fact, I paired this with bumble once and it was a really nice dark pink red colour! This is a great one for going out, colder weather or if you’re just feeling adventurous.

I’m going to try my best to describe tulle. It’s kind of a pink, mauve and purple colour. This is definitely a lot darker than I expected and a cool tone lip colour for sure. One thing though, it makes my teeth look super white! I do think one application is enough for a nice colour but building it up could strengthen it for sure! I would say this colour is similar to the last lipstick i’m going to show you called beeper but this one is actually pinker than beeper. All in all, there’s a lot of pigment in all of these lipsticks.

It wasn’t until writing this post that I realized how bad I am at describing colour so please try to bear with me. To me, this is a muted redish pink colour, more pink than red. If you only layer this on with your hands, the super thin layer of this lip product will actually create an almost hot pink colour. This so the lipstick that made me fall in love with this line and I have to thank bumble for being A+.

Last but not least is beeper. This is a matte brown colour with cool undertones that are slightly purple. I know I’m saying this is a brown, but it’s a lot lighter than regular brown… if that makes sense. I would say out of all of these colours, I would probably wear this one the least because of the super cool look it gives me( and I’m not super cool trust me).  It just doesn’t match with my daisy sundress you know? However, I could see this working really well during the colder months.

img_7152
Top to bottom: Avenue, Tulle, Bumble, Beeper under natural light

img_7151

Top to bottom: Avenue, Tulle, Bumble, Beeper under warm light 

I know the lipsticks look slightly wet but that’s because I dabbed too much on at first and it didn’t dry when I took pictures of it! As for the smell of these lipsticks, I honestly don’t think they have a smell and it they did it really didn’t bother me.

These aren’t expensive at all cashing in at $6 USD and a little more CAD so these are definitely worth your money with the wide array of colours you have to choose from!!

That’s it for today!! xoxo

Arriverdverci,

Sindy Spencer

2 thoughts on “Matte Lips For Days: ColourPop Ultra Matte Lip

Leave a Reply

